Smith County residents will soon be voting again to select their political party’s nominees in the July 14 runoff election for constable positions, a district judge seat, party precinct chairs and state offices.

The last day to register to vote in the runoff election is Monday. For voting information, contact the Smith County Elections Office at 903-590-4777 or visit

Due to COVID-19 concerns, Gov. Greg Abbott moved to the primary runoff date from May 26 to July 14.

In the Democratic runoff race for Smith County Precinct 1 Constable, Bobby Garmon, who has served as appointed constable since 2017, is facing Curtis Traylor.

The two are on the ballot after the 12th Court of Appeals ruled that Willie Mims, who received the most votes in the primary, could not be the party’s nominee

Before the primary election, Garmon filed a lawsuit that alleged Mims did not meet filing requirements and thus could not be a candidate. While the lawsuit was being contested, Mims name remained on the ballot and he received the most votes.

The case eventually went to the 12th Court of Appeals, which ruled that a runoff between Garmon and Traylor must be held to decide the party’s nominee.

In the primary election, Garmon received 38% of the vote, while Traylor received 10%. There is no Republican challenger in November.

Other local races are all within the Republican primary.

In the Smith County Precinct 4 Constable race, incumbent Josh Joplin will face challenger Curtis Wulf. In the March 3 primary, Joplin received 42.88% of the total, while Wulf took 29.67% in a four-person race.

There will be no Democratic candidate in this race in November.

In the 114th District Court race, Austin Reeve Jackson and Jarad Kent are seeking the Republican nomination.

In March, Jackson received 44.47% and Kent 40.16% of the total. Third-place finisher Mitch Adams received 15.4%. Incumbent Judge Christi Kennedy is retiring.

The winner of this runoff will not have a Democratic competitor in November.

Smith County Republicans will also be voting in a runoff for two precinct chairs. Alice Zillmer and Shelby Dawn Davis are seeking the precinct No. 5 chair position. David Rasco and Trey Thedford are vying for the precinct No. 38 chair position.

For statewide races, Democrats will vote in two runoffs to select the candidate who will face U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) and their candidate for railroad commissioner.

Mary “MJ” Hegar and Royce West will face each other in the runoff as the two top finishers in the 12-person race. Hegar received 22.3% of the vote, while West received 14.7%, according to the Texas Secretary of State website.

Chrysta Castenada and Roberto R. “Beto” Alonzo are vying for the Democratic nomination to face off against Republican primary winner James “Jim” Wright. Castenada received 33.85% of the vote, while Alonzo received 28.65% in a four-way race.

Early voting will be held June 29 through July 2 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., July 5 from noon to 5 p.m. and July 6 to 10 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

There will be safety precautions for each of the polling locations, such as providing hand sanitizing stations and encouraging social distancing, based on recommendations from the state of Texas and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention related to COVID-19, according to a news release from Smith County.

Early voting locations are The Hub, 304 E. Ferguson St. in Tyler; the Heritage Building, 1900 Bellwood Road in Tyler; Noonday Community Center, 16662 County Road 196 in Tyler; Lindale Public Library, 200 E. Hubbard St. in Lindale; and Whitehouse Municipal Court, 311 E. Main St. in Whitehouse.

On July 14 (Election Day), there will be 21 polling locations open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Polling locations on Election Day include:


Chapel Hill Fire Department, 13801 County Road 220

New Harmony Baptist Church, 10251 Farm-to-Market Road 724

St. Louis Baptist Church, 4000 Frankston Highway

Tyler Senior Center, 1915 Garden Valley Road

Dayspring Methodist Church, 310 W. Cumberland Road

Heritage Building, 1900 Bellwood Road

The Hub, 304 E. Ferguson St.

Soma Church, 3700 Old Bullard Road

Noonday Community Center, 16662 County Road 196

Red Springs Fire Department, 16759 Farm-to-Market Road 14

St. Violet Baptist Church, 14129 Farm-to-Market Road 2767

Three Lakes Middle School, 2445 Three Lakes Parkway

Shiloh Pines Mobile Homes, 2525 Shiloh Road


Arp First Baptist Church, 304 Front St.


Bullard Fire Department, 215 S. Houston St.


Flint Baptist Church, 11131 Farm-to-Market Road 2868


Hideaway Member Service, 101 Hideaway Lane


Lindale Public Library, 200 E. Hubbard St.


Whitehouse Municipal Court, 311 E. Main St.


Starrville Church Living God, 18396 U.S Highway 271

Victor Kay Gymnasium, 605 Wildcat Drive


I came to the Tyler Morning Telegraph in September 2019. I report on crime, courts, breaking news and various events in Tyler and East Texas.

Recommended for you

Load comments