Jacksonville Independent School District recently announced the 2018-19 Teachers of the Year. They were selected by a vote by their campus staff members.

Campus Teachers of the Year were recognized at the April school board meeting. Three Jacksonville ISD Employees of the Year were also recognized. 

During the board meeting, the District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year were named. They also will be submitted to the Region 7 education service center Teacher of the Year competition.

The Elementary Teacher of the Year for 2018-19 is Maria Galvan, from Joe Wright Elementary School. Tony Harris, a seventh-grade history teacher at Jacksonville Middle School was named Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Monetary gifts were presented to each of the employees of the year from the Jacksonville Education Foundation and Jacksonville ISD.

Campus Teachers of the Year

Jacksonville High School: Jenifer Lemke

Jacksonville Middle School: Tony Harris

Nichols Intermediate: Erica Barnes

East Side Elementary: Maggie Luna

West Side Elementary: Stephanie Ganske 

Joe Wright Elementary: Maria Galvan

Fred Douglass Elementary: Jayme Tomlinson

Compass Center: Maxine Moore 

JISD Employees of the Year

Paraprofessional Employee of the Year: Pam Brewer, West Side secretary

Auxiliary Employee of the Year: Troy Hamlett, Warehouse & Delivery

Non-Teaching Professional of the Year: Nicole Fontenot, Health Services coordinator


Cory is a multimedia journalist and member of the Education Writers Association, Criminal Justice Journalists and Investigative Reporters and Editors. He has appeared on Crime Watch Daily and Grave Mysteries on Investigation Discovery.

Recommended for you

Load comments