city/school elections

Early voting in May 24 primary runoffs begins Monday and continues through May 20.

Early voting in May 24 primary runoffs begins Monday and continues through May 20.

What’s on the ballot?

Residents can view sample ballots by visiting the .

Republican ballot

State and local Republican candidates who will be on the ballot are:

Attorney general

George P. Bush:

  • During a campaign stop earlier this year in Tyler, Bush said, if elected, he will take the “corruption” out of state, county and local government. He looks to improve the AG’s office, support law enforcement, secure the border and more.
  • Ken Paxton (I)

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • Dawn Buckingham
  • Tim Westley

Railroad commissioner

  • Sarah Stogner
  • Wayne Christian

Wayne Allen, left, and Chris Roberts

Constable Pct. 2

Wayne Allen: Allen is a former member of the Tyler Police Department. If elected, Allen said

  • he would “be there for the public, doing the job that the constable is supposed to do and restoring integrity, transparency and professionalism to the office.”
  • Chris Roberts: Roberts said he is a Master Peace Officer and has been licensed for 25 years.
He also has
  • served as a reserve deputy constable in Pct. 2 for the past seven years. He said he would be available for residents with an “always open door.”

Precinct Chair 3

  • Bob Brewer
  • James Leath

Precinct Chair 28

  • Ryan West
  • Jenifer White

Democratic ballot

Federal, state and local Democratic candidates who will be on the ballot are:

1st Congressional District

Jrmar (JJ) Jefferson:

  • Jefferson, of Texarkana, said he has five major areas he would focus on, including the Health Care Investment Literacy Act, education, economic development, public safety and quality of life.

Victor D. Dunn

  • : Dunn, of Kilgore, said he would work toward making district staff more available, would hold monthly town hall meetings and would appoint pastors in each 1st Congressional District county.

Lieutenant governor

  • Michelle Beckley
  • Mike Collier

Attorney General

  • Rochelle Mercedes Garza
  • Joe Jawarski

Comptroller of Public Accounts

  • Janet T. Dudding
  • Angel Luis Vega

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • Sandragrace Martinez
  • Jay Kleberg

Precinct Chair 5

  • Carol Friend
  • Billy Joe Morehead, Jr.

Precinct Chair 10

  • Ronnie C. Williams
  • Cintya Garza

Precinct Chair 14

  • Mike Nichols
  • Tricia Jackson

Precinct Chair 15

  • Tony Johns
  • Ericka Green Freeman

Precinct Chair 19

  • Dave Hansen
  • Robert Beaudoin

Precinct Chair 23

  • Ro Allan
  • Mary Willis-Thornbury

Precinct Chair 26

  • Robert Simonson
  • Kathy Townsend

Precinct Chair 35

  • Jamie L. Mims
  • Bettie McDonald Mitchell

Precinct Chair 42

  • Bill Bowen
  • Roger Mitchell

Precinct Chair 52

  • Kelly L. Wishart
  • Joe Starling

Precinct Chair 54

  • Mitzi Rusk
  • Richard Mead

Precinct Chair 56

  • Staci Oller Smith
  • Shirley Layton

Precinct Chair 58

  • DG Montalvo
  • Terry Combs

Precinct Chair 61

  • Pat Parsons
  • Nellie Spencer-Henry

Precinct Chair 76

  • Milo Perry
  • Vanessa Jonyer

When and where can Smith County residents vote?

Early voting locations are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 16 to 20.

Smith County residents can vote at any of the five early voting locations:

  • The HUB, 304 E. Ferguson St., Tyler
  • Heritage Building, 1900 Bellwood Rd., Tyler
  • Lindale Masonic Lodge, 200 W. Margaret St., Lindale
  • Noonday Community Center, 16662 CR 196, Tyler
  • Whitehouse United Methodist Church, 405 W. Main St., Whitehouse

Recent Stories You Might Have Missed

I cover local government in East Texas for the Tyler Morning Telegraph. I’m from East Texas and love getting to report on the area I grew up in. Texas A&M University former student. If you have story ideas email me at