TYLER - The Farm Service Agency (FSA) is now accepting applications for emergency farm loans due to damages and losses caused by drought occurring October 13, 2015 and continuing in Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson, Rusk, Smith, Upshur, and Van Zandt Counties.

Smith County Farm Loan Manager, Joseph Grier, asks farmers who want to apply for emergency loans to submit their applications as soon as possible.  The deadline for applications is June 21, 2016, but Grier says if farmers wait too long, a backlog will develop and cause delays.

Generally, farmers who have lost 30% of their production or any physical loss due to the disaster are eligible for the emergency loans. 

The FSA office is located at 4209 Republic Drive, Tyler, TX  75701.  The telephone number is (903) 561-2050 with office hours from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.  Additional information regarding Disaster Assistance Programs may be found online at


Recommended for you

Load comments