ET Chapter celebrates AKA anniversary

The organization also will recognize Golden Honorees, those who have been active in the sorority for 50 and more years. They are, from top right, Greta Moore-Dixon, Winifred Johnson, Frances Anderson, Ira Jean Henry, Berdine Craddock, Dr. Edna S. Houston (not pictured), Gladys Square (not pictured) and LaVerne Matlock (not pictured).

The East Texas Pineywoods chapters of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. will be host to a Founders' Day luncheon beginning at 12:08 p.m. Saturday at The University of Texas Health Northeast Biomedical Science Building, 11937 U.S. Highway 271.

The luncheon is in observance of the 106th anniversary of AKA and will feature the sorority's South Central Regional Director Chelle M. Wilson as keynote speaker.

The event's theme is Leadership and Timeless Service: A Timeless Mission.

Jeannette Calhoun, chair of the event, anticipates a great turnout.

"I'm just excited that three graduate chapters and undergraduate chapters have come together to show our pride of Alpha Kappa Alpha and to support sisterhood by sponsoring this event," she said. "Having celebrated with pride our 106th year as Alpha Kappa Alpha women, we are all reflecting on the mission of the founders as we strive to ensure their vision of Alpha Kappa Alpha sisterhood."

Ms. Wilson said she is equally excited about the event.

"The very first chapter chartered in what is now the South Central Region was Phi Chapter (Wiley College) in 1924," she said. "Since that time, the impact these chapters continue to make on their communities exemplifies and embodies the founders' vision of service to all mankind."

Ms. Wilson has been active in the sorority since her initiation into Alpha Zeta Chapter at Langston University in 1992. She has held the positions of president and Ivy Leaf reporter as an undergraduate and continues her tradition of service and leadership in Tau Rho Omega Chapter in Carrollton, where she has held various positions.

A former Leadership Fellow, Ms. Wilson has worked as a mentor, facilitator and assistant coordinator to the Leadership Fellows program.

Ms. Wilson made history at the 1994 NAACP National Convention by becoming the first youth elected to the NAACP National Board of Directors at-large position. As a national board member, Ms. Wilson served on several committees.



Golden and Diamond sorors, boasting 50 and 75 years of service in the organization, will be honored at the luncheon. Members from each chapter will also be honored with service awards for individual achievements and contributions to the community.

Founded on Jan. 15, 1908 on the Howard University campus, AKA is the oldest Greek-lettered organization established by African-American college-educated women.

The organization has motivated youth through its Emerging Young Leaders Program. It has supported and encouraged struggling families through its economic security and empowerment initiatives. It also has spread awareness of illnesses such as sudden infant death syndrome and cancer.

Presidents of the graduate chapters, who are serving as hosts for the event, are Crystal Robertson, Nu Omega in Marshall; Laura Newsome, Gamma Omicron in Tyler; and Odette Alexander, Epsilon Zeta Omega in Longview.

Undergraduate host chapters are Alpha Tau of Texas College in Tyler, Zeta Chi of Jarvis Christian College and Phi Chapter of Wiley College.

The event is open to the public. Tickets cost $35 and must be reserved by calling 903-372-5139.





Recommended for you