CASEY MURPHY, Special to the Tyler Morning Telegraph

Dozens of Smith County school children proudly accepted ribbons Tuesday at the annual Fire Prevention Awards Ceremony.

Students of all ages from Arp, Chapel Hill, Christian Heritage, Lindale, Troup, Whitehouse and Winona competed in a poster drawing contest themed “Hear the Beep Where You Sleep,” focusing on the importance of having smoke detectors in homes.

The Smith County Fire Marshal’s Office and the Smith County Volunteer Firemen’s Association holds the poster contest annually.

Lindale Volunteer Fire Department Public Information Officer Aaron Munn gave the students and their parents a demonstration about what to do if a fire starts in their home.

“Sparky” the dog also attended, delighting the kids by showing them how to “stop, drop and roll,” before posing for pictures with the youngsters.

Smith County Fire Marshal Connie McCoy-Wasson, who also serves as the secretary/treasurer of the Smith County Fireman’s Association, said about 80 children attended the event at the Rose Garden Center.

Fire departments from around the county voted on the entries. Awards were given for first, second and third place in four divisions, which included kindergarten to second grade; third to fifth grade; sixth to eighth grade; and ninth to twelfth grade. From those, overall division winners were selected.

Overall division winners included:

Division I: Mycah Nelson, Winona ISD, first place; Jacob Pattullo, Christian Heritage, second place; and McKenzie Miller, Arp ISD, third place.

Division II: : Gabi Taica, Christian Heritage, first place; Amethyst “Amy” Barker, Whitehouse ISD-Stanton, second place; and Chloe Modisette, Lindale ISD-E.J. Moss, third place.

Division III: Dalton Curry, Chapel Hill ISD, first place.

Division IV: Lauryn Killian, Whitehouse ISD, first place; and Savannah Turney, Whitehouse ISD, second place.

Awards included certificates, ribbons and monetary prizes given by the Volunteer Fireman’s Association.

- Casey Murphy is the public information officer for the Smith County Commissioners Court.

Recommended for you

Load comments